About Me

Self portrait, Framnes Mountains, Antarctica.

Self portrait, Framnes Mountains, Antarctica.

Diversity is my speciality. I thrive on working in small expedition teams in wild and remote locations. After spending a number of years helping raise my two young children, I am currently looking for guiding opportunities with cruise operators in the polar regions.


Education & Work

I have a Degree in Environmental Science and a Diploma in Digital Imaging. Job roles have included: Canyon Guide, Roping Instructor, Research Assistant in semi-arid Australia, Field Guide in Antarctica, Assistant Expedition Leader in the Arctic and Writer / Photographer.


Countries I have lived in

Though born and bred in Sydney, Australia, I have lived in Antarctica, Canada (1-year), France (1-year), the Maldives (2-years), Thailand (2-years) and the Cook Islands (1-year). I now reside in Christchurch, New Zealand.


Notable Personal Trips

Silk Road Journey: a 10-month, 13,000 kilometre overland journey from Istanbul to Mongolia with my wife Jane. We travelled by foot, horseback, sea kayak, ferry, car, truck, train and mini-van, through the Greek Islands, Turkey, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, China and Mongolia.

Trekked The Three Passes route, Everest Region, Nepal

Paddled 500-kilometres of the Orkhon River, Mongolia, unsupported with Jane

Kayaked the Turquoise Coast, Turkey

Trekked a link up of The Wangapeka Track, The Heaphy Track, The Douglas Range and The Leslie-Karamea Tracks, South Island, New Zealand.

Paddled the Franklin River, Tasmania, Australia.

Climbed numerous peaks in Aoraki / Mt Cook National Park, South Island, New Zealand.